How did the last 10 finals of Copa America pan out? - All Sport News


Home Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Saturday, 25 June 2016

How did the last 10 finals of Copa America pan out?

With the Copa America Centenario mouthwatering final between Lionel Messi's Argentina and Alexis Sanchez's Chile on Sunday, here are details of the 10 finals since:
 Image result for messi 

Image result for Alexis Sanchez 

1993 (Host Ecuador):Argentina 2 Mexico 1. Gabriel Batistuta struck twice for holders Argentina who had progressed through the knockout rounds with penalty shootout wins over Brazil and Colombia
1995 (Uruguay): Uruguay 1 Brazil 1 (5-3 pens). Midfielders Enzo Francescoli and Gus Poyet steered Uruguay to the title and a shootout victory over the world champions
1997 (Bolivia):Brazil 3 Bolivia 1. Ronaldo and Romario teamed up to help Brazil become the first team to hold the Copa America and World Cup at the same time
1999 (Paraguay):Brazil 3 Uruguay 0. A team featuring Ronaldo and Rivaldo, who scored twice in the final, helped Brazil retain the trophy with the pair ending as joint top scorers with five goals each
2001 (Colombia):Colombia 1 Mexico 0. Holders Brazil were upset 2-0 by Honduras in the quarter-finals and a goal by defender Ivan Cordoba sealed Colombia’s first and only title
2004 (Peru): Argentina 2 Brazil 2 (4-2 pens). Brazil striker Adriano headed an equaliser in the final seconds of stoppage time to take the final to a shootout
2007 (Venezuela):Brazil 3 Argentina 0. Argentina, with Juan Roman Riquelme in his pomp and a young Lionel Messi, were undone by Brazil’s counter-attacks and a decisive own goal by Roberto Ayala
2011 (Argentina):Uruguay 3 Paraguay 0. Two goals by Diego Forlan and one from Luis Suarez sealed a romping win at the River Plate stadium in Buenos Aires
2015 (Chile):Chile 0 Argentina 0 after extra time (4-1 pens). Chile’s best generation, moulded by a succession of Argentine coaches, undid Messi’s World Cup finalists
2016 (United States):Argentina v Chile. Sixteen teams including six from CONCACAF in a 16-nation format for the first time to celebrate the tournament’s 100th anniversary.

Post Bottom Ad